Notice is hereby given of the 2018 Annual General Meeting of the Tecoma Village Action Group (inc) to be held:

6:30 pm on Monday 12th November 2018
at Bonsai Bali Restaurant, Tecoma. 

Come and join the current TVAG Committee, Councillor Mike Clark and special guest speaker, Chris Riseley 'Community Development Officer', for our Annual General Meeting. Be updated on current organisational reports and involved in the election of a new Committee to take Tecoma into the future as a member group of the Shire of Yarra Ranges Townships Network.

This will be good practice for the upcoming State election two weeks later and a Federal election next year.

The AGM will, in traditional style, be brief after which we invite you to stay and enjoy a meal at one of Tecoma's top restaurants for some social intercourse and delicious food from about 7:00pm onwards.

Please RSVP, indicating you ability to attend the AGM and/or stay for dinner.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call 0407 862 152

Your 2018 TVAG Committee



Community Consultation meeting - re:1553 Burwood Highway Tecoma

The Shire of Yarra Ranges arranged a Community Consultation meeting with the project developer whereby persons concerned with this development may meet and hear a presentation from the developer. Afterwards there will be time for enquiries and limited discussion.


Sherbrooke Child Centre
Burwood Highway

Thursday 6th September 2018

6:00pm - 7:00pm

Meeting Report:

Steve O’Brien, Managing Director of Universal Planning, spoke on behalf of the developers. He was accompanied by the Project Manager, Amanda Ming, but his architect was an apology.

The meeting was facilitated by Nick Wilson, Planning Officer, who was accompanied by Katy, Chief Planner and Mardi (?) Cuthbert, a very impressive young lady responsible for transport in the planning area.


Compared with other meetings we have attended this was a very useful and constructive meeting. The aim was to find out what the community felt about the proposed development – we were able to communicate amiably with Steve and raised many issues which he will take back to the developers and discuss. We are invited to contact him with any comments that he can present to the developers and he genuinely appeared to want to accommodate concerns and issues that we, as Tecoma residents, have.


The main objective for the development is to utilise the site to its full potential – a café and sitting out area were not considered as meeting that objective!! Steve O’Brien was interested to hear ideas from us about exhaustive use of the site, what can be done with it?


The main topics we raised were:

Height, roof gardens, not in keeping with street façade, visual profile and design, set back, materials to be used

Cars – parking, small size of garages not accommodating larger cars, lack of required parking spaces, shop owners parks not available for use, space for delivery vehicles & loading bay

Permeability – management of water drainage, non-pervious surfaces

Construction – accommodation of large equipment, removal of soil, inconvenience to traffic on easement

Amenity – ventilation, air-conditioning, heating – where will these be placed. Permanent smell from Maccas! Waste bins

Accessibility – not any good for disabled people, prams. Not raised but needs to be addressed – how can large furniture items be taken into residences when  access ways are so narrow?


Norm (TVAG) stressed the VCAT reports from the supermarket and then Maccas should be carefully studied.


We learned that :

The construction management plan is still to be developed

The traffic report has been amended and gone back to Council for consideration

Landscape plan still to be developed

Drainage plan has been upgraded and being worked on by Council

Waste bins – Council is currently looking at this


Nick will keep us informed as to progress , let Mike Clarke know what’s happening, and when it goes to Council meeting for consideration we will be allowed to have one person speak for 5 minutes.

Tecoma Survey Results

Many thanks to all those who completed our first Community Survey, Tecoma is a really collaborative community. And congratulations to Paul and Brian who were randomly selected by computer program to each win  $25 gift voucher for plants from the Southern Dandenongs Community Nursery at Birdsland.

This first survey was to explore the community structure and gain a feel of what is important to Tecoma residents and workers. We are most grateful for the time you have taken to complete the survey. TVAG is now analysing the results and will keep you posted on projects that eventuate from this survey.

Application for Planning Permit next to Salvos

An application for a planning permit to develop the vacant lot at 1533 Burwood Highway has been made public and the Shire of Yarra Ranges are asking for input from the public. The plans for this site include a shop front, above which will be constructed 2 apartments behind which will be 3 multi-storey townhouses. They are also applying for a reduction in the required car parking.

This would be the only building in Tecoma with a 2-storey frontage to Burwood Highway and includes 3-stories at the rear, both which could set precedents for future developments.

All those with an interest in the future of Tecoma and the maintenance of Tecoma as a "Hills Township" are encouraged to lodge a submission as soon as possible. More details are available from the Council Link Office in Upwey or here...